Operator OT Set Lists from Club Nevermore, 6/8/2024

I, Operator OT, want to thank everyone who came out to Saturday night’s Club Nevermore—as well as Nevermore for having me! My set lists are below the cut.

Read more…

No Show Tonight - June 9, 2024

Half Machine Lip Moves won’t be on air tonight. We plan to be back next week.

Read more…

No Show Tonight - June 2, 2024

Half Machine Lip Moves won’t be on air tonight. We’ll be back soon!

Read more…

Episode 252: 5/26/2024

Half Machine Lip Moves logo with ‘#252’ on it.

This show began with a set of brand new post-punk, darkwave, and synthwave tracks. Then we began the show proper, which was a tribute to the late producer and audio engineer Steve Albini, also of the bands Big Black and Shellac. We played tracks from releases that were recorded, mixed, or produced by Steve Albini, as well as tracks he played on or wrote. Most of it leaned on noise rock and no wave, along with a bit of post-punk, and we closed the show with a set of post-rock, experimental, etc.

Read more…

Half Machine Lip Moves is Back, May 26, 2024

Half Machine Lip Moves is back! Tonight, May 26, 2024 at 10 PM-1 AM Central Time [11 PM-2 AM ET/8-11 PM PT/03:00-06:00 UTC]. We’re starting off with some new darkwave and post-punk tracks. Then we’re doing a tribute to the late Steve Albini (of Big Black, Shellac, and producer/mixer/audio engineer on many releases). This one’s going heavy on the noise rock, no wave, and experimental. Listen at the free worldwide livestream at kuhsradio.

Read more…

No Show Tonight, May 19

Half Machine Lip Moves won’t be on air tonight. I think we’ll be back next week, but I’m not promising that. Incidentally, much of the next show is going to be a Steve Albini tribute.

Read more…

Episode 251: 5/5/2024

Half Machine Lip Moves logo with ‘#251’ on it.

We started this show witha set of new post-punk, darkwave, and EBM tracks. That was followed with a set of post-punk and synthpop with an underlying theme of being stuck and going nowhere. The third block block was a somber one. The fourth block was a set of post-punk, darkwave, etc. tracks themed around magic, because this show was supposed to air around Walpurgisnacht. We played a set of tracks themed or referencing Halloween in the fifth block, because it was about halfway to Halloween. And we finished the set with a track of mostly-new dungeon synth tracks.

Read more…

Half Machine Lip Moves Returns to Air, May 5, 2024

Half Machine Lip Moves is back this week! We hit the airwaves/streams tonight at 10 PM Central Time (11 PM Eastern/8 PM Pacific/03:00 UTC) for three hours. We’re starting off with some new post-punk, goth, and darkwave. We’ll have some of our usual industrial, darkwave, post-punk, plus a set of new dungeon synth tracks; a set in honor of it being (a little over) halfway to Halloween, and more! There won’t be a podcast of this show.

Read more…

Operator OT Setlist from Club Nevermore, 4/26/2024

I want to say thanks to everybody who braved the elements and came out to Club Nevermore’s fifth-anniversary show on April 26. And I want to thank Clusters of Fornication, Vampire Police, Alien Abstraction, and Summore, and Club Nevermore for having me!

My setlist from that night is below the cut.

Read more…

Episode 250: 4/21/2024

Half Machine Lip Moves logo with ‘#250’ on it.

We began this show with tracks by bands that are playing at Vino’s next Friday, April 26. Then we played a block of new industrial, darkwave, and post-punk tracks from new releases. That was followed with a set of of industrial and synthwave. The fourth block was a set of heavy industrial and power noise with a underlying theme of man-made and ecological disasters. The fifth block was a set of experimental and power electronics that continued with the theme of pollution and man-made disasters, and we finished the show with a set of experimental tracks. We also, against all probable odds, reached our 250th episode! Thanks to everyone who listens, whether you’re new or have been with us since the beginning.

Read more…